Learn More

Matthias Pantaleon

Rookie - 289 Points (August 24,1984 / Oronija Island, Nigeria)

Biography of Matthias Pantaleon

Matthias Pantaleon poet


Birth Name: Matthias Pantaleon
Born: August 24 1984
Birth Place: Oronija Island, Andoni
Ethnicity: Andoni (Ijaw)
Occupation: Poet, lyricist, playwright
Nationality: Nigerian
Period: 2001-present
Genres: Poetry drama shortstory
Subjects: Contemporary literature
Links: www.matthiaspantaleon.wordpress.com

Matthias Pantaleon (born August 24,1984) is a Nigerian poet, lyricist and playwright. His plays are set in contemporary settings with well defined characters and plot. He enjoys a good reputation for writing classics and satires. He is the author of Eclipse of the Heart (2012) and Journey to the Unknown (2014) .


Born in Oronija Island to the Unama Royal House of Agana and the Etete War Canoe House of Okolo-Ile, Andoni, Rivers State, Nigeria. Pantaleon was raised in Borokiri area of Port Harcourt. He is the fourth in a family of seven. His father was a veteran in the Police Mobile Force (5 PMF Squadron Benin City) and retired as an Assistant Superintendent of Police after 35 years of meritorious service.
Raised in a catholic family, Pantaleon was baptised at St. Michael de archangel parish, Nnewi, in 1999; by Fr. Cletus Okoye and in year 2000, October 1st to be precise, he was confirmed according to the catholic tradition a soldier of the Lord Jesus Christ by Bishop Hilary Okeke with confirmation name Collins.


Pantaleon educated at OUCS Nnewi, Nnewi High School Nnewi, and Meu Victory College Idimu, Lagos.
He received a National Diploma in Mass Communication from Lagos State Polytechnic, Ikorodu, Nigeria, in 2014; during his education he published two books Eclipse of the heart (2012) and Journey to the Unknown (2014) .


Pantaleon started writing professionally in 2001, inspired by Elechi Amadi's The Concubine, Ngugi Wa Thiong's Black Hermit, Camara Laye's African Child, David Diop's Africa (poem) and William Shakespeare's Julius Caesar. Between 2001-2009, Pantaleon wrote over five hundred poems on different themes and in different languages, two novels, one drama and other literary works. Though most of these books never saw the stable of publication as the original manuscripts were destroyed by his ex-girlfriend, Glory. An incident which caused him both emotional and mental set back as it reflects in his poems: Irrational lover, Odd, I am a student of life and Fair share. Among those unpublished manuscripts that were destroyed by Glory, in 2009; includes:

1. Cindino Marandino (Novel)
2. Owaji (Play)
3. Last Mayor of Port Harcourt (Novel)
4. Southern Hospitality (Poetry)
5. Dorisabel (Play)
6. Pirates of Andoni Island (Poetry)
7. Dead Dream (Play)
8. A Day Too Many (Public Diary)
9. The Intellectual Property (Philosophical quotes)


In 2012, while still in Lagos State Polytechnic, Pantaleon published his first book 'Eclipse of the heart' (a collection of poems) . The book didn't do well in the market, as a result of what he (Pantaleon) called technical shortcoming on the part of the publisher. The publisher had bleached the contract by printing copies that could be mistaken for pamphlets in term of size. Hence, sales of the books was drastically poor.

1. Eclipse of the heart (poetry)
2. Journey to the unknown (play)

PoemHunter.com Updates

Port Of Harcourt

Alas, the ship depart we port
A handful of men aboard
Desperate to raise a fortune
A bandwagon of women
Hungry for equality
Hence must set sail at once
So we sail with blood of uncertainties
clot in our pupils
River of dreams washing through our heart

[Hata Bildir]